Smooth Sail For BJP in Karnataka By Polls; Congress Concedes Defeat


Bengaluru: The BJP Government in Karnataka led by BS Yediyurappa is all set to retain power as the by poll result trends show a one sided mandate. While the Bharatiya Janata Party candidates in 12 of the 15 assembly segments leading, it has become certain that the sailing will be smooth for the party.

Meanwhile the Congress has conceded defeat. Party leader DK Shivakumar has said that “We have to agree with the mandate of the voters of these 15 constituencies. People have accepted the defectors”.

Bypolls in 15 constituencies of Karnataka were held last Thursday as the seats were left vacant after the members had resigned after in July leading to the collapse of the Congress-Janata Dal Secular (JDS) coalition government. Later the Bharatiya Janata Party took the mantle. The BJP needed to win only six seats to keep its majority in the 222 member assembly.

The BJP currently has 105 MLAs and the support of one independent candidate, while the Congress has 66 and the JDS 34.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.