Odisha : Sudarshan Sahoo Gets Padma Vibhushan, Five Others Nominated for Padma Shri Award

Bhubaneswar: Eminent artist Sudarshan Sahoo has been nominated  for prestigious Padma Vibhusan award for the year 2021.

Similarly,  five other eminent personalities including social worker Shanti Devi, artist Purnamasi Jani, noted Culture Specialist Dr. Rajat Kumar Kar have got the Padma Shri award.

Similarly other two from Odisha to bag the award are Dr. Krishna Mohan Pathi for his contribution in the field of medicine and Nanda Prusty got the Padma Shri Award.

Padma Awards – one of the highest civilian Awards of the country, are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The Awards are given in various disciplines/ fields of activities, viz.- art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc. ‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

These awards are conferred by the President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March/ April every year.

Comments are closed.