Odisha CM Congratulates Manpreet Singh on Winning FIH Player of Year Award


Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has congratulated the Indian Men’s Hockey Team Captain Manpreet Singh on winning the International Hockey Federation’s Player of the Year award.

“Congratulate Indian Hockey Team captain Manpreet Singh on becoming the first Indian to win International Hockey Federation’s Player of the Year Award. Best wishes for future”, the CM tweeted.

In June last year, Manpreet Singh who completed 250 International matches for India during the FIH Men’s Hockey Series Finals Bhubaneswar Odisha 2019, successfully led the team to victory beating South Africa in the Final of the event.

He was also instrumental in Indian Team’s performance at the FIH Olympic Qualifiers in November last year where they edged out Russia to earn their ticket to 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

In the FIH Player of the Year 2019 (Men) category, Manpreet was up against World Champions Victor Wegnez and Arthur van Doren from Belgium, FIH Pro League 2019 winners Aran Zalewski and Eddie Ockenden from Australia as well as Lucas Vila from Argentina.

Earlier, Hockey India had congratulated Manpreet Singh on winning the prestigious award.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.