Naveen Confers Suraj Awards To Three Organ Donors Posthumously


Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today conferred the coveted Suraj Awards to three Organ donors of the state posthumously who donated their organs to save the lives of others. The awards were conferred to the family members of the organ donors through video conferencing.

The three awardees include late P Pryanka Rani Parta of Digapahandi , Suchitra dash of Bhubaneswar and Rajalakhsmi Das of Delanga in Puri district. The Chief Minister presented the memento and a cash award of five lakh rupees to each of the families.

The Odisha Government constituted the Suraj award last year to encourage organ donation by brain dead people. The Award is named after Suraj Behera, a native of Ganjam, who donated his organs to save the lives of six persons after he was declared brain dead in an accident in Surat.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.