Lightning Alert Issued for 15 Districts in Odisha


Bhubaneswar: The Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) Regional Centre today issued lightning alert for 15 districts of Odisha.

The districts are Kandhamal, Bolangir, Nuapada, Kalahandi, Boudh, Sonepur, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Jagatsinghpur, Puri, Cuttack, Khurda, Ganjam and Nayagarh.

The alert has been issued till 1.30 pm today, the IMD said.

“Moderate thundershower and lightning with one or two spells of intense rainfall likely to continue at one or two places over these districts till 1.30 PM, the IMD mentioned in the latest bulletin.

The weather department also predicted occurrence of  heavy to very heavy rainfall in 9 districts today as cyclonic circulation formed over north-west Bay of Bengal is likely to turn into a low pressure in next 24 hours.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.