Cyclone Bulbul: Schools in Nine Districts to Remain Closed on Nov 9, ODRAF Teams Deployed

Bhubaneswar: As Cyclone Bulbul is likely to intensify into a severe cyclonic storm over the Bay of Bengal, the Odisha Government has announced closure of schools in nine districts on November 9 as part of the precautionary measure. 

The decision was taken after a high-level preparatory meeting on Cyclone Bulbul, said Odisha Special Relief Commissioner (SRC) Pradeep Jena.

All schools in Balasore, Bhadrak, Cuttack, Kendrapada, Jagatsinghpur, Puri, Khurda, Mayurbhanj and Jajpur districts will remain closed on November 9, said the SRC.

Two ODRAF teams each have been deployed in 9 districts. One NDRF team each have been despatched to six districts and fire services personnel kept on standby, he said.

The State Government also urged the district administrations to closely monitor the development of the cyclonic system, as it may trigger heavy rainfall in several areas.

Earlier, the government has announced closure of all schools and Anganwadi centres in Puri, Jagatsinghpur and Kendrapada districts for two days from tomorrow.

Meanwhile, the Balasore district administration cancelled holiday of all government employees for two days.

Comments are closed.