Bijepur By-polls: Vote Counting to Begin from 8 AM on October 24


Bhubaneswar: The counting of votes for the by-polls to Bijepur Assembly seat in Odisha’s Bargarh district will begin from 8 am on October 24.

Odisha Chief Electoral Officer Sushil Kumar Lohani informed that RMC Padampur Market Aid premise will host the counting arrangements.
In a press release, the CEO said that as many as 14 counting tables for ETPBS for service voters counting and postal ballot counting will be set and around 103 counting personnel will be deployed.

Out of the 14 tables, one table will be used as VCB (VVPAT Counting booth).

One micro observer will be present at each table and one counting supervisor, one counting supervisor, a counting assistant, a Class IV employees (attached to the table) and a counting agent appointed by the contesting candidates will be present at each table, the release said.

As per the latest instruction of Election Commission of India, five VVPAT selected at random through the draw of lots will be counted after normal counting is over.

The use of mobile phones will be restricted on the campus, the device can be used in media centres. The authority letter issued to media persons will be used as a pass to enter into the media centre, Odisha CEO added.

Notably, 79.17 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the Bijepur by-election held on October 21.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.